Photo competetion.jpg

PHOTOGRAPHY COMPETITION!

Village photography competition

Theme: Life in Wookey Hole

Deadline: 24th July 2015


Wookey Hole’s  Wonderful Wildlife

Early Summer

 

1a.png 1b.png

                                                                                       

 

Our House Martins are back!

lc3.png Wookey Holes Wonderful Wildlife!
Friday 10th April 7.30pm
lc4.png

les-spring-15-1.png

 

If, like me, you have a passion for our native wildlife, Wookey Hole and the surrounding countryside is delightful. 

As the days get longer, and very slowly get warmer, we can notice a renewed  urgency in the natural world.  Right on queue this year on  14th February (Valentines Day) birds started to  find mates, sing , and hold territory.   Already I have Dunnocks (the misnamed Hedge ‘Sparrow’), and Mistle Thrushes (the Storm Cock) singing, and spotted woodpeckers drumming in the wood across the valley. 

You can find links for many pleasant walks on the Mendip Hills website, including this one that can be started from the village:   

 

Ebbor Gorge and Model Farm: 4 mile, 2.5 hours walk

Notes: at stage two, instead of ‘almost immediately turn right to walk past the lime kilns, then bear left onto the lane’ keep straight on to go through the impressive ‘split rock’.You can then go through a gate into the field and straight ahead to pick up the walk at stage 3 ‘to go through a metal gate in a stone wall’ left of the farm.  

What's On

Upcoming Events

Sun Jun 23 @11:00
Communion
Mon Jun 24 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Sun Jun 30 @11:00
Communion
Sat Jul 06
Walk & Cream Tea
Wed Jul 10 @14:00
Basic Life Support
Thu Jul 11 @19:00
Cinema Club - Mary Poppins Returns
Wed Jul 24 @19:00
Basic Life Support
Wed Aug 14 @19:00
Basic Life Support
Wed Sep 11
Basic Life Support