Our June meeting started with a bang when the clock fell off the wall. Thankfully our speaker came to the rescue and order was restored.

    The sunshine has certainly inspired us to make activity plans . In June we are visiting the Rural Life Museum for afternoon tea. Jill is hosting a coffee morning in July and Sue H is welcoming everyone to her garden in August.
    We were delighted to hear that at least one of the bird boxes that we presented to Wookey Hole
Church has blue tits in residence. Hopefully there will be the flutter of tiny wings.
    Our speaker Michael Malaghan treated us to an amusing talk .He has written children's books for 25 years but has also been a Journalist, written scripts for TV, and been a fiction writer for women's magazines .He told comical tales of his experiences in Pompeii, Naples, Capri, Malta and France.
    Many of his 'adventures' gave him the ideas and inspiration for his many books. He was thanked by Sue H for his entertaining talk.
    The flower competition with it's array of blooms demonstrated how lovely our gardens are.
1st Jill 2nd Lavinia 3rd Pat. The holiday souvenir competition gave our resident china pig a moment of glory when she was accidentally awarded second prize. She collects 'Pennies for Friendship' each month. After some adjustment it was 1st Jill 2nd Rose 3rd Sue H. Thanks to all who took part.
 
wi-jun-2018.jpg

What's On

Upcoming Events

Wed Jul 17
Luncheon Club
Sun Jul 21 @11:00
Matins
Mon Jul 22 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Wed Jul 24 @19:00
Basic Life Support
Wed Jul 24 @19:00
Basic Life Support
Sun Jul 28 @11:00
Parish Communion
Mon Jul 29 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Wed Jul 31 @19:00
Parish Council Meeting
Sun Aug 04 @14:00
Glencot House Open Day
Wed Aug 14 @19:00
Basic Life Support
Wed Sep 11
Basic Life Support