There are three tiers of local government

  1. Parish council (St Cuthbert Out)

  2. District council (Mendip)

  3. County Council (Somerset)


Our local MP is James Heapey (Conservative) (


See his latest activity on They Work For You



Parish Council - St Cuthbert Out -


with (Dinder, Wookey Hole and East, West and South Horrington. It also includes the smaller settlements of Burcott, Coxley, Dulcote, Easton, Launcherley, Lower Milton, Polsham, Southway, Upper Milton and Worminster)


The Parish council is the first tier of local government. It covers

  • Use of land, and sale or ownership of land

  • Community resources including telephone boxes, litter bins, bus shelters and footpaths

  • Recreational facilities such as playing fields and parks

  • Community centres, halls and other public buildings

  • Planning issues, and the public notification of planning applications

The Parish council also oversees the neighbourhood plan


There are five parish councillors representing St Cuthbert Out North ward (which includes Wookey Hole). Their details can be found here:


You can find the details of meeting and minutes here


Mendip Council -


Mendip council is second tier. It covers:

  • housing
  • waste collection
  • council tax collection
  • local planning
  • licensing
  • cemeteries and crematoria


The District Councilor for St Cuthbert Out North is Ron Forrest  -


Somerset Council -


Somerset council is third tier. It covers:

  • waste management
  • education
  • libraries
  • social services
  • transport
  • strategic planning
  • consumer protection
  • police
  • fire


The County Councilor that covers Mendip West is Cllr Graham Noel


What's On

Upcoming Events

No events