WCOS photo.jpg

The Wells Cathedral Oratorio Society will sing Vivaldi’s renowned Gloria, together with Mary’s song of praise, the Magnificat, by J. S. Bach, in Wells Cathedral on Saturday, 11th November.  Playing on period instruments, they will be accompanied by Music for a While who will also perform Vivaldi’s Concerto for Strings in A Minor.  A feast of inspirational music for the start of winter!

Bach's Magnificat is a musical setting of the biblical canticle. It is scored for five vocal parts and a Baroque orchestra including trumpets and timpani. 

Vivaldi wrote at least three settings of the hymn Gloria in excelsis Deo, whose words date probably from the 4th Century. This is the best known setting of the Gloria, simply known as the Vivaldi "Gloria" due to its outstanding popularity.

Performance: Saturday 11th November, 7pm.

Tickets £10 - £25 . Phone the Wells Cathedral Shop Box Office (01749 672 773) to secure yours. A few may be available on the door.

For more information: www.wellscathedral.org.uk

You have no rights to post comments

What's On

Upcoming Events

Sun Mar 18 @11:00
Sun Mar 18 @11:00
Mon Mar 19 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Mar 20 @10:00
Sewing Day
Tue Mar 20 @19:30
Scrabble Club
Wed Mar 21
Luncheon Club
Wed Mar 21 @19:30
Meet and Make Group
Sat Mar 24 @19:00
Happy Birthday Bernstein!
Sun Mar 25 @08:00
Mon Mar 26 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Wed Mar 28 @19:30
Meet and Make Group
Fri Mar 30 @14:00
Good Friday
Sat Mar 31 @10:00
Community Garden
Sun Apr 01 @11:00
Sun Apr 01 @12:00
Duck Race
Mon Apr 02 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure