butterflies201709 copy 1.JPG

Our summer job of registering butterflies is drawing to a close. Each week one or more of us goes up the Mendips to count what butterflies are in the transacts or sections of the walk that we exactly tread . This year has been reasonable although alas we have not spotted the once common chalk hill blue or the always rare Adonis blue. It has been very rewarding however and last week I took this photo of a young Comma feeding. These are really colourful and gorgeous. I also saw an elderly pale one at the same time, and Les Cloutman told me this would have come from the first brood of the season and that the Comma has two broods,unusually for butterflies
Then I visited Chew Valley Lake and was rewarded with seeing 5 great egrets. Huge white stork like birds,
Next week is the last butterfly walk this year. We are always very fortunate indeed to go up with our specialist Pete Smith, now 90 years of age and amazingly tenacious and fit!
This year our blackberries are stunning,large and sweet also
Best Wishes
Lucy White

 

You have no rights to post comments

What's On

Upcoming Events

Sun Oct 22 @11:00
Eucharist and Baptism
Mon Oct 23 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Oct 24 @19:30
Meet & Make Group
Sun Oct 29 @08:00
Eucharist
Mon Oct 30 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Oct 31 @19:30
Meet & Make Group
Mon Nov 06 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Nov 07 @19:30
Meet & Make Group
Thu Nov 09
Cinema Club - The Levelling
Sat Nov 11 @19:00
Glorious November music in Wells Cathedral
Mon Nov 13 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Nov 14 @19:30
Meet & Make Group
Sun Nov 19 @16:30
Cinema Club - The Red Turtle
Mon Nov 20 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Nov 21 @19:30
Meet & Make Group
Sat Nov 25 @10:00
Christmas Coffee Morning
Mon Nov 27 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Nov 28 @19:30
Meet & Make Group
Mon Dec 04 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Dec 05 @19:30
Meet & Make Group