Events Calendar

Download as iCal file
Glorious November music in Wells Cathedral
Saturday 11 November 2017, 19:00

The Wells Cathedral Oratorio Society will sing Vivaldi’s renowned Gloria, together with Mary’s song of praise, the Magnificat, by J. S. Bach, in Wells Cathedral on Saturday, 11th November.  Playing on period instruments, they will be accompanied by Music for a While who will also perform Vivaldi’s Concerto for Strings in A Minor.  A feast of inspirational music for the start of winter!


Bach's Magnificat is a musical setting of the biblical canticle. It is scored for five vocal parts and a Baroque orchestra including trumpets and timpani. 



Vivaldi wrote at least three settings of the hymn Gloria in excelsis Deo, whose words date probably from the 4th Century. This is the best known setting of the Gloria, simply known as the Vivaldi "Gloria" due to its outstanding popularity.

Performance: Saturday 11th November, 7pm.


Tickets £10 - £25 . Phone the Wells Cathedral Shop Box Office (01749 672 773) to secure yours. A few may be available on the door.

For more information: www.wellscathedral.org.uk

Location Wells Cathederal

What's On

Upcoming Events

Tue Jun 19 @19:30
Scrabble Club
Wed Jun 20
Luncheon Club
Wed Jun 20 @19:30
Meet & Make Group
Sun Jun 24 @08:00
Communnion
Mon Jun 25 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Jun 26 @10:00
Sewing Day
Wed Jun 27 @19:00
Parish Council Meeting
Wed Jun 27 @19:30
Meet & Make Group
Sun Jul 01 @11:00
Communion
Thu Jul 12 @19:30
Cinema Club - The Shape of Water
Mon Aug 06 @13:30
Pilates