This week Pete Smith and I ,tLucy White , went up the Mendips to look for our weekly count of butterflies and we were delighted to find 2nGreen Hair Streaks ( fairly rare round here and only around for a week or two at most) and Holly Blue,all on the same bush. I photo'd them but alas what with sunshine etc did not get much of a snap. However we were delighted and saw our first Small Heath of the season and Dingy and Drizzled skippers as well. They sound ugly but are actually delightful little fellows. They fly near the ground so are relatively easy to spot. There was 100% sunshine and although the wind was rather fresh we had a very successful trip with all the usual ones in attendance
It was a lovely experience but the decision to go was taken late in the day at 10.30am and we went at 11.30am to catch a good moment in around other activities for that day
Now I am home typing this and ready to go for a more modest local walk. The butterfly trip takes 2 hours

You have no rights to post comments

What's On

Upcoming Events

Tue Jul 17 @19:30
Scrabble Club
Wed Jul 18
Luncheon Club
Sat Jul 21 @10:00
Gift Day
Sun Jul 22 @16:00
Festival Evensong
Mon Jul 23 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Jul 24 @10:00
Sewing Day
Wed Jul 25 @19:00
WI County Quiz
Sun Jul 29 @08:00
Communion
Mon Jul 30 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Jul 31 @19:00
Full Council Meeting
Mon Aug 06 @13:30
Pilates