Gary Amos attended the inaugural ‘Starlit Skies’ Alliance in Bath on behalf of WHRF. This was attended by many groups interested, (for a number of reasons), in reducing nightime light pollution. A naturalist advised that owls, (of which there are three species in Wookey Hole), affected by light pollution, are unable to hunt as they lose their night vision. Gary, like many astronomers would like streetlights and domestic security lights switched off for at least part of the night to make watching the night sky easier. If light pollution of any type is causing you a problem Gary suggests an informal approach first: many people simply do not realise the implication of bright lights at night, but if that fails you can approach Mendip District Council for help and advice. In the meantime, keep lighting to a minimum to help owls!

owl-517497_960_720.jpg

You have no rights to post comments

What's On

Upcoming Events

Tue Jan 16 @10:00
Sewing Day
Wed Jan 17
Luncheon Club
Wed Jan 17 @19:30
Meet and Make Group
Sat Jan 20
WHRF Bring and Share Supper.
Sat Jan 20 @19:30
Scrabble Club
Sun Jan 21 @11:00
Matins
Mon Jan 22 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Wed Jan 24 @19:30
Meet and Make Group
Sun Jan 28 @08:00
Communion
Mon Jan 29 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Mon Feb 05 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Mon Feb 12 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Mon Feb 19 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Mon Feb 26 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Mon Mar 05 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Mon Mar 12 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Mon Mar 19 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Mon Mar 26 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Mon Apr 02 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure