President Jill Deane welcomed members and our WI advisor, Ann Preston from Chard, to our December meeting. She reminded us that 2018 was going to be a busy year, with the anniversary of the granting of the vote to women, and the Centenary of Somerset WI, as well as the anniversary of the ending of WWI. Jenny will be organising workshops in the New Year to make us a banner, designs have already been discussed. In the meantime we were able to relax and enjoy the Christmas season. But she did challenge us to sing, a cappella, Jerusalem, which we of course know well, but as we have no pianist or piano available, we usually let the opportunity pass. Sue H passed round mulled wine to soothe our throats afterwards.

Jill had provided the makings for Christmas cards, without demanding too much of our creativity, and Myrtle showed us how to make tree baubles using polystyrene balls and small pieces of fabric. Sue H. had brought a quiz to test our knowledge of the more obscure aspects of the festive season, and also some humorous readings to fill the breaks in the buzz of friendly conversation. The afternoon passed very pleasantly, rounded off with an extra special raffle and a buffet tea, prizes and goodies provided by the committee. Seasonal treats were also brought to donate to the Vineyard Church food bank, organised by Margaret. Merry Christmas to all.


Rose Docherty 

You have no rights to post comments

What's On

Upcoming Events

Sun Mar 18 @11:00
Sun Mar 18 @11:00
Mon Mar 19 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Tue Mar 20 @10:00
Sewing Day
Tue Mar 20 @19:30
Scrabble Club
Wed Mar 21
Luncheon Club
Wed Mar 21 @19:30
Meet and Make Group
Sat Mar 24 @19:00
Happy Birthday Bernstein!
Sun Mar 25 @08:00
Mon Mar 26 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure
Wed Mar 28 @19:30
Meet and Make Group
Fri Mar 30 @14:00
Good Friday
Sat Mar 31 @10:00
Community Garden
Sun Apr 01 @11:00
Sun Apr 01 @12:00
Duck Race
Mon Apr 02 @11:00
Painting for Pleasure